Nothing going on here, move along…

Computer boot sequence

This is the sequence a computer uses when booting up.

  • POST –  Power On Self Test
  • BIOS reads the MBR – Master Boot Record
  • NTLDR reads BOOT.INI file to pick OS
  • NTLDR uses NTDETECT.COM to find hardware
  • NTLDR reads registry and loads drivers
  • NTOSKRNL.EXE starts WINLOG.EXE program and displays the login screen
  • * The NT kernel is the heart of the windows OS


    Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

    You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

    Connecting to %s

    Tag Cloud

    %d bloggers like this: